The State of Utah has now activated the rental assistance program that providers can apply for.
We appreciate the many groups who helped create this program, specifically the State of Utah Housing Programs staff, the housing advocates who provided input and help including the Utah Housing Coalition and others, and the legislature who provided funding and allowed owners and managers to apply. Following are the materials.
We have 3 tips for you:
1 – Read the information thoroughly. Government programs require precision and may be difficult to navigate
2 – Understand that the program allows reimbursement for all amounts agreed to in the lease including RUBS (utilities) and other amounts
3 – Know there are experts who can facilitate the process for you if you would prefer. Keyrenter can help connect you with the right groups to have this facilitated.
Landlord Housing Assistance Program (LHAP)
Program Guidance and Rules
The Housing Assistance Program has been funded by CARES Act Funds awarded to the Utah Legislature and distributed to the Utah Housing and Community Development Division. This program is designed to assist landlords in applying on behalf of their tenants in obtaining or retaining rental housing who have been negatively impacted by the COVID-19 pandemic.
General Program Rules
1. Rental Assistance will be $2,000 or less per month. Landlord must apply on behalf of tenant(s) monthly. There is no limit to how many times an applicant can be approved within the window of time the program operates.
2. Rent payments will go directly to landlords.
3. No rental assistance will be issued after December 30, 2020.
4. Landlords can apply for this funding through WebGrants.
5. Property owner or tenant may not receive a duplication of benefit from local, state or federal resources. Tenants must disclose whether they have received other local (including churches, Red Cross, etc.), state and federal rental assistance. Property owners who receive rent from tenant or another assistance provider for the same unit and month will be required to repay funds to the State of Utah.
- Applicants must have a combined gross income at or below 100% AMI, and
- Applicants must have been negatively impacted by the COVID-19 pandemic.
1. Property must be located in the State of Utah
Eligible Uses of Funds
Expenses from March 1, 2020 – December 30, 2020
- Monthly Rent including any amounts owed under the lease (i.e. taxes, insurance, utilities) as stated on the lease.
- Arrears (payments made for housing assistance over 30 days past due) is allowable for those that didn’t receive a UI benefit for the month(s) seeking arrearages. Covers monthly rent in arrears as stated on the lease.
1. W-9 (landlord only)
2. LHAP application (for each tenant)
3. Self-Declaration of Income Form (for each tenant)
Income will be determined by the Self-Declaration Form.
Waivers to policy guidelines and rules can be staffed and granted by HCD Program Specialists for extenuating circumstances.
How to Apply
To apply for the Landlord Housing Assistance Program do the following:
- Click https://webgrants.utah.gov/index.do and select Register Here
- Once registration is complete, you will receive a login and password.
- Log into Housing Assistance Program and select Funding Opportunities
- Select 20 HAP
- Start a New Application.
- Project Title: Property Name
- Select Go to Application Forms
- Under Application Forms, select Landlord HAP Application
- Edit, enter in application information, SAVE
- Select Add to enter each tenant’s claim information
- Select Go to Application Forms
- Select Landlord Attachments and attach the W-9 (landlord only) https://www.irs.gov/forms-pubs/about-form-w-9
- Select Tenant Attachments and for each tenant attach the following:
- Tenant Application for Rental Assistance.
- Self-Declaration of Income.
- Lease or other written agreement for tenant(s) at the property.
- Go to Application Forms and click Submit.
Sanobi Johnson: [email protected] or (385)-377-3338
*Provided courtesy of the Utah Apartment Association